Administrative and Committee Assignments 

Fall 2022 - Spring 2023



Head – Bowles

Associate Head – Irigoyen

Director of Graduate Studies – MacDonald

Advisors to first year M.A. Students

                     Spanish Linguistics:  MacDonald

                     Hispanic Literatures: Irigoyen

Director of Undergraduate Studies, Spanish – Abbott

Undergraduate Advisor in Spanish – Hughes

Acting Director of Introductory Spanish Language – Yarrington

Director of 4th Semester Spanish Language – Carollo

Director of Advanced Spanish Language – Henshaw

Director of Basic Language Instruction for Portuguese – Goebel

Undergraduate Advisor in Portuguese—Karam

Parliamentarian – Tolliver

Graduate Student Representative to Departmental Meetings – Unai Rocha Martínez

Basque Studies Mentor & Supervisor – Hualde

Catalan Studies Mentor & Supervisor - Hualde


Course Supervisors (AY 2022-2023):

SPAN 232 – Abbott

SPAN 248 – Ledesma (course only offered in Spring)

SPAN 250 – Martínez Quiroga (course only offered in Spring)

SPAN 252 – R. Delgado (Fall), Jegerski (Spring)

SPAN 303 – Jegerski (Fall), Hualde (Spring)

SPAN 305 – Montrul (Fall), Hualde (Spring)

SPAN 307 – R. Delgado (Spring only, no TA sections in Fall)

SPAN 308 – Callesano

Supervisors for 300-level courses in lit/cult to be determined by area committee based on topic.



Advisory Committee [elected] - Karam (2022-2024), Jegerski (2021-2023), Montrul (2021-2023), Tolliver (2022-2024), Bowles [ex officio], Irigoyen [ex officio]

Education Abroad Committee – Abbott, Hualde (Chair), Hughes, Ledesma (Spring), Meléndez (Fall), Torres-Cacoullos, Izaro Bedialauneta (student)

Graduate Recruitment & Admissions - MacDonald (Chair, ex officio), Irigoyen, Jegerski, Karam, Ledesma (Spring)

Committee on Graduate Awards – MacDonald (Chair, ex officio), Callesano, Irigoyen, Karam                     

Area Review Committees on Graduate Progress (including course scheduling and strategic planning within the group)                    

  • Spanish Linguistics - Bowles, Callesano, R. Delgado, Hualde, Jegerski (Chair), MacDonald, Montrul                                                                                   
  • Spanish, Latin American Literatures/Cultures - Cervantes-Gómez, E. Delgado, Irigoyen (Chair), Karam, Ledesma, Meléndez, Tolliver, Torres-Cacoullos
  • Portuguese - Karam (Chair), Goebel                                                                                

Committee on Undergraduate Awards (Flores, Jugenheimer, Alvaro Monserrat Llardén, Borgeson, Pasquariello) - Abbott (Chair), Henshaw, Martínez-Quiroga            

Curriculum Committee - Abbott (Chair, ex officio), Henshaw, Hughes, Irigoyen, MacDonald (ex officio), Karam, Tolliver, Jonny Pye (student)                                                                                                           

Policy & Development – Carollo, Cervantes-Gómez, Goebel, Tolliver (Chair), Katie VanDyne (student)

Capricious Grading Committee [elected -3] –  Tolliver (22-25, Chair), Torres-Cacoullos (22-25), MacDonald (20-23), Sara Castro Cantú (student)

Lectures & Arrangements Committee – Callesano (Chair), Hualde, Torres-Cacoullos, Lizara García (student)

Academic Integrity Violations Appeals Committee (elected-3)Callesano, R. Delgado (Chair), Torres-Cacoullos


Faculty Annual Review Committees

  • Assistant Professors: All tenured faculty (Associate and Full professors) 
  • Associate Professors: Bowles, E. Delgado, Hualde, Irigoyen, Karam, Meléndez, Montrul
  • Non-tenure track faculty: Advisory committee (other faculty may be recruited if needed)

P&T Committee for Promotion from Associate Professor to Full: Bowles, E. Delgado, Hualde, Irigoyen, Karam, Meléndez, Montrul   

Darlene Wolf Fellowship – Hualde (Chair), Jegerski, R. Delgado

Non-departmental Awards for Excellence – R. Delgado, Goebel, Jegerski (Chair), Martínez-Quiroga

Website committee - Irigoyen (Chair), Callesano, Cervantes-Gómez, Ledesma (Spring only), Yvette Bandín (student)

Proficiency evaluation committee (Fulbright, Study Abroad, other) - Martínez Quiroga (Spanish), Carollo (Spanish), Goebel (Portuguese)

Undergraduate Spanish Class Scheduling committee – Carollo (Chair), Henshaw, Hualde, Yarrington, Kacie Gastañaga (student)

Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion committee – R. Delgado, Goebel, Hughes, Meléndez (Fall only, Chair), Ledesma (Spring only, Chair), Gerson Morales (student)



Latin American Search – Cervantes-Gómez, Karam (Diversity Advocate), Meléndez (Chair)

Director of Introductory Spanish Search –Abbott, Carollo, Henshaw, Montrul (Chair) [Will be officially charged once the position is approved.]

MAT Committee Henshaw, Irigoyen, Montrul (Chair)


IV.  NON-DEPARTMENTAL COMMITTEES (School, College, Campus and U of I System wide)

SLCL Executive Committee (elected, 22-24) – Silvina Montrul

Faculty Senate (elected) – Jill Jegerski and Joyce Tolliver


VI. Administrative Positions

  • John Karam– Director, Lemann Institute for Brazilian Studies
  • Joyce Tolliver– Director, Program in Translation and Interpreting Studies


VII.  SPGO – Graduate Student Organization

President: Danny Meléndez

Vice President: Beatriz Jiménez

Treasurer: Caio Albernaz Siqueira

Secretary: Maialen Casquete de la Puente



EO Support and Office Manager for SP, SLATE, Study Abroad – Katie Walker