Administrative and Committee Assignments 

Fall 2023 - Spring 2024


Head – Bowles

Associate Head – Irigoyen (on sabbatical in Fall)

Director of Graduate Studies – MacDonald

Advisors to first year M.A. Students

                     Spanish Linguistics:  MacDonald

                     Hispanic Literatures: Irigoyen           

Director of Undergraduate Studies, Spanish – Hughes (Acting DUS in Fall), Abbott (Spring)      

Undergraduate Advisor in Spanish – Hughes

Director of Introductory Spanish Language – Yarrington

Assistant Director of Introductory Spanish Language - Dutton    

Director of 4th Semester Spanish Language – Carollo      

Director of Advanced Spanish Language – Henshaw

Director of Basic Language Instruction for Portuguese – Goebel

Undergraduate Advisor in Portuguese—Karam

Parliamentarian – Tolliver

Graduate Student Representative to Departmental Meetings – Unai Rocha Martínez

Basque Studies Mentor & Supervisor – Hualde

Catalan Studies Mentor & Supervisor - Hualde


Course Supervisors (AY 2023-2024):

SPAN 232 – Abbott

SPAN 248 – Ledesma (course only offered in Spring)

SPAN 252 – R. Delgado

SPAN 254 – Cervantes-Gómez

SPAN 303 – Hualde

SPAN 305 – MacDonald

SPAN 307 – Montrul

SPAN 308 – Jegerski

SPAN 312 – Tolliver

SPAN 316 - Meléndez



Advisory Committee [elected] – Hualde (2023-2025), Ledesma (2023-2025), MacDonald (2023-2025), Tolliver (2022-2024), Bowles [ex officio], Irigoyen [ex officio, Spring]

Education Abroad Committee – Hualde (Chair), Hughes, Ramírez Méndez, Torres-Cacoullos, Nerea Miguel Huidobro (student)

Graduate Recruitment & Admissions - García-Blizzard, Irigoyen (Spring), Jegerski, Ledesma, MacDonald (Chair, ex officio)

[Note: SPGO elected graduate recruitment representatives are Luis Gaytán (LING) & Beatriz Jiménez (LIT)]

Committee on Graduate Awards –Callesano, García-Blizzard, Irigoyen (Spring), MacDonald (Chair, ex officio)      

Area Review Committees on Graduate Progress (including course scheduling and strategic planning within the group)

  • Spanish Linguistics - Bowles, Callesano, R. Delgado, Hualde, Jegerski (Chair), MacDonald, Montrul                                                           
  • Spanish, Latin American Literatures/Cultures - Cervantes-Gómez, García-Blizzard, Irigoyen, Ledesma, Meléndez, Ramírez-Méndez, Tolliver (Chair), Torres-Cacoullos

Committee on Undergraduate Awards (Flores, Jugenheimer, Alvaro Monserrat Llardén, Borgeson, Pasquariello) - Abbott (Chair), Dutton, García-Blizzard, Martínez-Quiroga (Spring) [committee meets in Spring only]      

Curriculum Committee - Abbott (ex officio, Spring only), Henshaw, Hughes (Chair), Irigoyen (Spring), MacDonald (ex officio), Cervantes-Gómez, Jonny Pye (student)                                                                                   

Policy & Development – Carollo, Cervantes-Gómez, Tolliver (Chair), Yarrington, Caio Albernaz Siqueira (student)

Capricious Grading Committee [elected -3] –  Jegerski (23-26), Tolliver (22-25, Chair), Torres-Cacoullos (22-25), Nerea Miguel Huidobro (student)

Lectures & Arrangements Committee – Callesano (Chair), Ramírez-Méndez, Torres-Cacoullos, Gerson Morales Pérez (student)

Academic Integrity Violations Appeals Committee (elected-3) – Callesano, R. Delgado (Chair), Torres-Cacoullos

Faculty Annual Review Committees

  • Assistant Professors: All tenured faculty (Associate and Full professors)
  • Associate Professors: Bowles, Hualde, Irigoyen, Meléndez, Montrul
  • Non-tenure track faculty: Advisory committee (other faculty may be recruited if needed)

P&T Committee for Promotion from Associate Professor to Full: Bowles, Hualde, Irigoyen, Meléndez, Montrul [Karam on sabbatical all year]

Darlene Wolf Fellowship – R. Delgado, Montrul (Chair), Jegerski

Non-departmental Awards for Excellence – R. Delgado, Goebel, García-Blizzard, Montrul (Chair), Martínez-Quiroga (Spring)

Website committee - Callesano, Cervantes-Gómez, Irigoyen (Spring), Ledesma, Torres-Cacoullos (Chair), Nerea Miguel Huidobro (student)

Proficiency evaluation committee (Fulbright, Study Abroad, other) - Carollo (Spanish), Goebel (Portuguese), Martínez Quiroga (Spanish, Spring)

Undergraduate Spanish Class Scheduling committee – Carollo (Chair), Henshaw, Hualde, Yarrington, Izaro Bedialauneta (student)

Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion committee – R. Delgado, Dutton, Hualde, Hughes (Chair), Araceli Pantoja (student)



P&T Committee for Xiomara Cervantes-Gómez – Ledesma (Chair), Meléndez, Tolliver

Third-year Review Committee for Alejandro Ramírez-Méndez - Ledesma, Meléndez, Tolliver (Chair)

Third-year Review Committee for Salvatore Callesano – Hualde, Jegerski, Montrul (Chair)

Office Manager search committee – Hualde, Jazmine Summerville, Anne Olmstead


IV.  NON-DEPARTMENTAL COMMITTEES (School, College, Campus and U of I System wide)

Melissa Bowles

  • LAS Hiring Advising Team (HAT)
  • Humanities Council (Chair)
  • LAS Foreign Language Accommodations committee

Brady Hughes

  • Foreign Language Advisory Committee (SLCL)
  • MarCom working group (LAS)

Eduardo Ledesma

  • 2023-26 MLA Committee on Disability Issues in the Profession

Mariselle Meléndez

  • College of LAS Dean’s Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Advisory Group
  • Humanities Council Subcommittee on Graduate Programs in Humanities
  • Provost Off-Cycle P & T Committee
  • Provost Office Named Faculty Appointment Committee
  • University of Illinois System Gender Inclusive Leadership Council (Member

Silvina Montrul

  • IRB Social and Behavioral Science Review Panel

Joyce Tolliver

  • University Senates Conference (advisory to President Killeen)
  • USC Statutes and Governance Committee
  • System-wide Values and Principles drafting committee (ad hoc; advisory to Executive Vice-President Nick Jones)
  • Governing Documents Review Committee (advisory to Executive Vice-President Nick Jones)
  • University Senate General University Policy Committee
  • Graduate College Mentoring Advisory Committee (ad hoc, 2023-24)
  • Bachelor of Liberal Studies Advisory Committee (LAS)
  • Humanities Council

Kara Yarrington

  • Advisor, Student Sustainability Committee
  • SLCL Initiatives Committee

 VI. Administrative Positions

  • Mariselle Meléndez – Director, School of Literatures, Cultures & Linguistics
  • Joyce Tolliver– Director, Program in Translation and Interpreting Studies

VII. SPGO Graduate Student Organization

President: Sara Castro Cantú

Vice President: Katie VanDyne

Treasurer: Yvette Bandin

Secretary: Jonny Pye

VIII. Office Staff

EO Support and Office Manager for Spanish and Portuguese and SLATE – vacant